Dreams Hope Destiny

Welcome Monsoons!

10 Comments

Its almost the Monsoons!  The pre-monsoon winds are here. The most long-awaited time of the year. The freshness is all in the air. The showers have blessed our wonderland. All we needed is to feel the thunders and watch the sparkles of the lightning in the sky.  The clouds have gathered. They are over-joyed and they want to break their excitement over our motherland, by clashing into one another and pouring the showers of blessings.

Its just a perfect weather to have your evening coffee and hot snacks while sitting by the window watching the rains. It brings out a wave of  nostalgia, while it takes you back into the memory lane. The times when monsoons arrived during the school re-opening. When you are all excited to go into the next class, packing your bag with fresh new books taking the smell of those new pages over & over millions of times.  The new rain coat, the new uniform, the new school bag, the new tiffin box and the water bottle. Tell me, do you cherish those wonder days?

While the roads would be logged with the rain water, I used to be one of those kids who would jump into the mud puddles. There was no question of carrying the umbrella, because even if you had one the powerful wind & the heavy rains would not let you hold it intact.  Our school ground used to be filled with the rain waters up to our knee level and we used to carry another pair of uniforms to school. I loved those mud puddles and I remember the stones they used to keep so that we could skip from one stone to another to reach our school gates. What fun!

The monsoon showers bring along  those memories of the first love, the first of its kind. The love that blossomed just like the buds blossomed into the beautiful flowers.  As the rain drops hit upon the roof top, you remember the first heart beat you felt when the two hearts clicked. Watching the rainbow you cherish the colors that your love has painted your life with. The warmth of the two hands holding each other while walking down the road sharing an umbrella.  Tell me, don’t you agree?

If there is something remarkable about the season, it is the feeling of freshness it brings to the young and the old.  The cuckoo and the hummingbird sing their melodies expressing their feelings about the monsoons.  The feeling that makes you thank the almighty for giving us a wonderful life.  Can you imagine standing under the tree with a group of friends for protecting from the rain and then a sudden urge to shake the branches, just to feel the tinkling droplets.

Its specially in my developing village back home that we usually have no electricity during the monsoons.  Our house with four glass doors in the living room when its pitch dark everywhere except for the oil lamps lit in the living room and then comes bolts of lightning which tremendously brightens up our house and then a “thhuddd”. Those thunders. Believe me, its damn scary. Then you hear your neighbors scream saying the trees have uprooted by the road side or the electric pole has collapsed. very common. Afters it takes two to three days to get the lines fixed.

Let us wait & watch what the monsoons have brought for us this year.

Overall, I love the rains. I love everything about it. The smell of the freshly wet mud, the oil lamps & candles, the heavy winds, the lush greenery, the newness, I could go on forever.

I am planning my vacations for the next month & I shall get you some pictures of the monsoons from back home. Until then, take care & have a blessed time 🙂

10 thoughts on “Welcome Monsoons!

  1. Whenever I think of monsoons I think of a movie I love, “Monsoon Wedding.” You write to lyrically about the magic of the rains when they come to you, Sonali! One MUST own a raincoat where you live. 🙂 I wish I could hear the cuckoo and the hummingbird sing their rain melodies…

    I do have fond memories of the first day of school, even though I was as nervous as I was excited. And the memories of first love, so sweet. It’s been so many years since those feelings were new, but it is a pleasure to reminisce with you.

    • Thank you Barbara. I have watched the movie Monsoon Wedding after you told me the last time. My mind automatically gets tuned “lyrically” the moment I see the showers. The memories of first love what I mentioned are just out of my imaginations and I’m glad you agree too. Perhaps, when I experience the first love, I will also witness that my imaginations are real too. Right now its pouring outside and I’m sitting by the window, listening to the music & watching the showers 🙂

      • It’s raining here today, too, although not a monsoon rain. I’m also listening to music and listening to the birds… Wishing you a first love, Sonali… *hugs*

  2. Sonali, thank you for sharing about the Monsoon rains. I have never experienced one of these–just ordinary rain showers like Barbara just mentioned. You wrote this so beautifully. It felt like we were right there smelling the freshness in the air, feeling the wet, filled with memories of past monsoons. I am especially intrigued about your developing village and the way you described the oil lamps. What an interesting life you’ve lived, my friend. So much to share with all of us who have never experienced the beauties and challenges of your motherland.

    • You are always right here, always on my mind Kathy. The rains in my place back home are indeed awesome. Full of life. There’s so much that happens during the season that most of the times we are lost in the chaos. Thank you Kathy, you are so kind.

  3. It’s so interesting to read this post. I come from an area (in temperate climate zone) where rain is not looked upon with love or as a blessing. We like the sun – and that is of course because water is not a scarcity with rain falling throughout the whole year. So indirectly we bless the rain, but not as expressively as you do. Great read!

    • It felt great to know water is not a scarcity in the area you live, unlike our side where water is quite a problem during the summers. Hence the rains are showers of blessings, truly for our survival. Well, thank you so much for dropping by! God bless..

  4. I loved reading about your Monsoon rains, Sonali. Reading and imagining, your description is as real as a picture and as raindrops falling heavily on my head 🙂 The first time I read about monsoons was in a fascinating book by M.M. Kaye “Far Pavilions”. Then I experienced some “rainy Seasons” in Central Africa. The rain would be sudden and violent, it would fall always at the same time at the end of the day and stop as abruptly as it had started. So different as the rains in my country. The landscape woul then blossom, veges and fruits would get bigger by the day and everybody would be happy. Thank you for your wonderful description of this particular time of the year.

    • Isa, your description about the rains in Africa sounds thrilling too. It amazing to know how different the seasons can be in different parts of the world. I shall look upon the book you mentioned. Thanks to you, for coming over. 🙂

Leave a Reply

