Dreams Hope Destiny

Only time will tell

11 Comments

The music was slowly fading away.  It was pitch dark.  She lit up two candles, one on the center table and the other next to the vase kept at the front entrance.  Heavy rains clattered along the roofs. Little Snoopy was lying on the carpet just so close to the candle where his furry body would absorb the warmth. She sat on the main couch with looks as intense as ever and picked up the phone  to inquire with the local electrician when the currents would be back.

Can the poor folks repair the broken electric poles in the heavy rains during the night? They said, the work can’t be done until the next morning and she understands. Her humbleness had always been on her forehead. She remained seated, concentrating on the sound of rains while the sudden thunders gave her a fright as if they would take her away. Her face still had no variation.  Snoopy walked towards her and gently cuddled by her feet. She  slightly patted Snoopy’s head with her wrinkled hands while her eyes still concentrating on nothing that is visible.

Twenty-two years back.

She set the breakfast table. She packed the children’s lunch box and ironed her husbands clothes. She then arranged the scattered news papers, followed by dusting, sweeping, washing clothes and the routine house keeping activities.

Her life was filled with liveliness. She would not have a minute to rest in a day. The daily hoopla was a part of her life.

It was the time when she needed no human to be by her side.  She had it strong within her heart, that she can live on her own at no matter what age. She is confidently being the center figure for the family,  being strong, faithful, loving and proud.

Now, her two children have completed their education and settled in the United Kingdom, having a well-paid and a reputed job. Practically, do you think she has something to worry about? No financial crisis, no family issues, neighbors all close and helpful, a luxurious set up in the house.

She would have had a huge family couple of years back and now all are living in isolation. There was a time in the past when there were elders, spouse and children adding colors to her family. Now, the five has turned one.

Though every day was no different than the new day once upon a time, life does not play a monotonous game forever. Everything comes to a halt. There is no defined infinity.

Its like you have hit the rock bottom hard when your very own are not living with you, beside you. Its not the money you want or the distant neighbors or the luxuries. Its the ones you share your blood relation with. The memories of the golden times spent years ago does pierce through the heart.

This is exactly what is happening with many of us, our parents. Yes, life changes and everything else takes a priority than the family. But ultimately where are we heading to?  Is the family oriented culture coming to an end? Do you think our next generation will have the same relation with their grand parents as we had with ours?

Or are we all going to be ultimately left in solitude with just the feelings “I wish they were here”.

11 thoughts on “Only time will tell

  1. I would like to thnkx for the efforts you’ve put in writing this blog. I am hoping the same high-grade website post from you in the upcoming as well. In fact your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own website now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings fast. Your write up is a good example of it.

  2. Very efficiently written article. It will be helpful to anyone who utilizes it, as well as yours truly :). Keep up the good work – i will definitely read more posts.

  3. This is really bittersweet and sad and lovely. I miss my family and wonder why we all have to live so far apart. We wanted to live way up north, but it is still sad not to be near my mom and dad and brothers, our son and daughter. Thank goodness that I still feel close listening to their voices on the phone so often. Sniff, sniff. See what your writing did? It opened hearts…

    • Getting people together has become really difficult due to the priorities everyone has set for themselves. Of course it hurts, when many a times we must only wish they were right here, living with us. Thank you Kathy, for aligning your thoughts with mine 😀

  4. This was heart-wrenching to read. Especially because it made me think of my mother. I went on to think about my day today and imagined it 10 years from now. The thought saddened me. Hopefully, it will be different. Suddenly, I don’t like nuclear families after reading your post.

    Even though it saddened me in parts, this was a beautiful read Sonali. Thank you for sharing it.

    • Don’t worry much about it, as life changes it definitely gives us all the courage that we need to be more strong physically, emotionally. Our future days need not be as bad, and if we realize it earlier, we can improve upon the things. Nuclear families, the independence, the loneliness cannot make our life “life”. I’m glad you appreciated my thoughts. Thank you! 🙂

  5. What a beautiful writer you are, sonali. Your thoughts from your heart touched me deeply. There was a time I was away from home due to my job and I did realize how hard it was for my parents. We visited one another as often as possible. Now I am glad to live closer to my father, my mother left some years ago. Family links are important for us and we meet regularly. I hope I instilled this feeling in my sons too. I can relate to everything you wrote, sonali, thank you 🙂

    • Family links are definitely very important. I wrote this post because sometimes I feel very lonely and I ponder. Its nice that you kept visiting each other as often as you could. I’m sorry, your mother is not with you now. One thing we must remember that we must not get so lost into our job & career that we don’t feel the importance of getting back to our family.

      P.S. I’m going back home coming Tuesday for a weeks time, we have a festival coming and we all are going to be together! 😀

  6. I so agree with your response, sonali. Family is what always remains meaningful in one’s life, isn’t it ? Enjoy your week at home with your loved ones and have a joyful festival 🙂

  7. A very interesting question you raise. Through beautiful but bitter-sweet words. I think we all need to encompass the idea that our lives cannot depend on others – not even the family. At the same time it’s sad if or when a family turns away from itself. We should all try our best to be part of the glue that keeps the family in close relationship.

Leave a Reply

