Dreams Hope Destiny

A Silent Conversation

8 Comments

What do you have to say today, dear Calendar?

Yesterday, my desk calendar showed the below:

” Progress in life, business, or any project comes through taking initiative and continuing to press on with new strategies,concepts, and plans. The original momentum isn’t enough to keep you moving forward. Your progress will grind to a halt unless  you refill your engine of inspiration with the fuel of fresh ideas. “

My desk calendar shows me the right quotes on the right days just when I need someone to tell me what I must hear. Its like we have a conversation, I ask and the calendar answers.

I picked up the desk calendar from a dear friends desk, without asking.  She never asked for it back. Perhaps, she and the calendar didn’t share the same friendship. Whenever I would jump over to her desk, I would keep flipping the pages of this calendar, reading different quotes, watching the pictures on it, I would get so lost. One fine day, I picked it up in my hand, I could not leave it there. I knew there was something.

Its been months now, and I knew there would be some change. The change that would leave me alone, silent,  self-absorbed.

And so, the calendar tells me, “I am with you. I will guide you through.  I will answer your questions. You need advice,  flip through me day after day. I will show you beautiful pictures of the gardens, birds, flowers, snow, hills, waterfalls, fruits. ”

We get pretty close.

My desk calendar gives me a “high-five” when I figure out the right solution to a problem.  And when someone just pounces on me, my calendar says “ignore!! be calm, don’t lose your mind!” 😉

Sometimes, while I am so busy completing my work, trying out different methodologies, searching for new code & better ideas,  and by the end of the day when I’m all worked up mentally, I look at the calendar that seems to be still fresh as it was in the early morning. Still energetic, quoting high, showing up a pretty flower.  A sense of breath.

Thank you for the words.

If there is something I truly admire, Its the silent conversation between a living and a non-living thing-yet-so-lively.

Do you also have a non-living thing so close to you that fills your heart?

8 thoughts on “A Silent Conversation

  1. It’s inspiring to read about this conversation. I don’t have anything like this, but maybe I should get myself a non-living-thing-yet-so-lively to experience the same. Sounds like great fun.

    • It is definitely inspiring to know that we can derive motivation even from the non-living things around us. We only need to observe. Sometimes its not a human-to-human conversation but also a silent conversation with things around us, perhaps they represent the angels or the fairies.

  2. How lucky are you anyway? To have a desk calendar that can read your mind! That knows exactly what you need. The Universe finds all sorts of ways to help us, doesn’t it? They say all the answers to our questions are within us at the very moment the questions are born. And, if we look around, the answers will speak to us, even from desk calendars. 🙂

    • I am very lucky that way, having lots of things for accompaniment. The answers to our questions lie within us, that’s true. There is always a way out. Thank you Kathy, for your kind words. Its always nice to see you here! 🙂

  3. I liked your post, sonali, this conversation always right on the D-day. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about it. I also read a similar calendar: a theme and a single picture for the month.. On this day, I read :Consumerism is destroying the globe: polluting the air, draining the oceans. “Consumption patterns, “Wangari Maathai taught, “continue at the expense of the environment and peaceful co-existence. The choice is ours”.
    Quite a lot to think about, inspiration for every day life.

    • Thank you Isa! I’m glad to know that you too read the quotes from the calendar and ponder over the good thoughts they share. How interesting this is. Inspiration comes from many things that exist around us, one needs to observe. Thanks for visiting! 🙂

  4. Oh yes! Like you, Sonali, I have several books of daily thoughts, quotes or meditations and whichever one I pick up on a particular day seems to open to a message just for me at just the right time. It’s an amazing universe that works so well to inspire and encourage us…

    • I quite believe that you will also have a collection of books with quotes & thoughts, simply looking at the beautiful blog posts of yours! Barbara, aren’t we so lucky, that we realize the message in any form the universe tries to convey to us?

Leave a Reply

