Dreams Hope Destiny

A Time for Sharing, A Time for Believing

10 Comments

The season of cakes,chocolates,wine,decorations and celebrations is already here.  Kalkals, dodol, bebincas are out of the oven in many of the Goan houses. Now that we have Facebook and people share every single tiny bit of their preparation right from the coconut and jaggery mixing together, I can’t wait until I get home.

For me, Christmas started a month back.  This time, the first Christmas tree that brightened my eyes and filled my heart was this:

First Christmas tree of the year.

First Christmas tree of the year.

Welcome, My Child

Welcome, My Child

The Red Decor

The Red Decor

IMG_0434

Or Do you like the Blue?

Don’t you dare tell me you reuse all the decorations from the previous years. Don’t you dare tell me the allure of fascinating decor pieces from the shop don’t pull you closer. Yea?

I know you will come and pick the pretty ones yourself.

I know you will come and pick the pretty ones yourself.

Honey, Sweeteners, for the season.

Honey, Sweeteners, for the season.

She sets up the Vine. Look at the photo on the front door. Does she dedicate her service to her grandmother?

She sets up the Vine. Look at the photo in the front. Does she dedicate her service to her grandmother?

Makes you want one of these two?

Makes you want one of these two?

Market place. Not sure about the people, but the Sun is rejoicing for sure!

Market place. Not sure about the people, but the Sun is rejoicing for sure!

Pretty ones, all to add to my collection.

Pretty ones, all to add to my collection.

While the parents shop, and here I thought I was the only fan of these maple leaves.

While the parents shop, and here I thought I was the only fan of these maple leaves.

All so Chrismassy

All so Chrismassy

The Musician who entertained all throughout.

The Musician who entertained all throughout.

Is'nt it a fair set up, walk around with a cup of hot wine.

isn’t it a fair set up, walk around with a cup of hot wine.

There is one lady, I will remember forever. A lady I met in the train on my way to Wien, a Doctor by profession. A Slovakian who studied medicine in Russian. Kind-Hear ted, gentle, and pretty too.

There is a box kept next to her that contains the cakes and sweets she prepared. She offered some to me, and the beautifully layered cake, I can't explain, it was the best cake I ever had in my whole life!

There is a box kept next to her that has the cakes and sweets she prepared. She offered some to me, and the beautifully layered cake, I can’t explain, it was the best cake I ever had in my whole life!

I would forever remember the conversation that I had with her, the message she conveyed to me touched my spiritual soul. If only, I could meet her again! will I, ever? Thank you, dear lady!

Here’s wishing you all a Merry Christmas and a Very Happy New Year!

10 thoughts on “A Time for Sharing, A Time for Believing

  1. Ah, the sheer beauty of Christmas in Europe… can’t get over it. And such lovely captures – some of them, esp. the kind lady at the end, make my heart melt. Merry Christmas!! 🙂

  2. Where were you, dear sonali ? The gorgeous market place looks like the one in Warsaw. Or was it Vienna ? I even noticed a Swiss flag in the pedestrians’ street. Lovely Christmas mood, nice lady you met on the train, I am very happy for you. Thank you so much for sharing. Happy New Year to you and your family !

    • Isa, the markets were in Wien and also in Bratislava. May you have a wonderful year ahead. Thank you so much for the wishes. Lets hope this new year brings new challenges and exciting opportunities, what say?

  3. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas, Sonali. Your photos are beautiful and you made me so happy reading about how the lady on the train touched your heart. Are you back home in India now?

    • Kathy, I had a nice Christmas with my family and neighboring friends, I was back in India in the first week of Dec. I’m sure you too had a great time, especially with Kiah around. Thank you for visiting 🙂

  4. Oh how festive the Christmas market looks! I love the Santa dressed all in white, holding a burlap gift bag wrapped in twine! I’m always buying new ornaments for Christmas and rearranging my decorations, too. 🙂 I believe you will meet the lady on the train again, angels have a way of crossing our paths again and again…

    • Angels definitely cross our paths several times, I believe too. I can imagine your enthusiasm while putting up the Christmas decors, some new ones every year. Thank you so much Barbara, Have a nice day! 🙂

  5. Happy New Year! Wonderful pictures, capturing the spirit of Christmas.

Leave a Reply

